VirtualBox: Cannot access kernel driver

Today I updated VirtualBox on my Windows7 system, and suddenly none of my virtual machines loaded.

I got curious, did a google search and found that in the setup some device drivers don’t load properly and you have to load them manually.

Thought I’d list what I did to get past this problem. My latest version of VirtualBox is 4.3.4 r91027 btw.

  • Close VirtualBox
  • Right click VBoxUSBMon.inf and select install in C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\drivers\USB\filter
  • Right click VBoxDrv.inf and select Install in C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\drivers\vboxdrv
  • Open VirtualBox, and load a VM – it should load now

Happy VM’ing!

2 thoughts on “VirtualBox: Cannot access kernel driver

Leave a Reply

